inyathi ibuzwa kwabaphambili-coming of Age”

The day i turned 21 is probably the most memorable day in my life, my parents gave me a key ornament and told me that it signified that the door of adulthood was opened and I now had to start making rational, adult like decisions in my life.It was my coming of age, across many cultures coming of age is signified by an event or ritual that a young person undergoes to signify theirentry into adulthood. Inyathi ibuzwa kwaba phambili is a photographic project that seeks to look at the idea of coming of age from an everyday life perspective. from falling in love, becoming a parent to the idea of beuaty and identity this project follows the lives of young people from all walks of life and seeks to document what coming of age means to them and how they deal with everyday challenges while still trying to transition from youth to adulthood.

Leave a Reply

